Scripture Memorization

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”

Hebrews 4:12 (ESV)

Memorizing and reciting scripture has been a part of my life since I was a very little girl.  It formed and shaped me in so many ways.  I began memorizing single Bible verses when I was 5.  My mom would write them on index cards and put them by the kitchen sink.  We would practice them when we were doing the dishes together.  If a verse was particularly tricky (for me that was any verse with a list) she would put the words to a familiar tune. 2 Timothy 3:16 is forever in my head to the tune of “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” and Romans 8:38 & 39 fits remarkably well into “Frosty the Snowman.”

When I was 10 I began memorizing longer and longer passages through a church program. We would wrestle with the context and the meaning of the words while memorizing entire books of the Bible.  In high school it began to be a chore so I gave it up, but the foundation was laid.  “You are what you eat” and my brain “feasted” on the King James Version of the Epistles for years.  The Word of God was in my heart, and the poetic language was etched in my brain.

Scripture memorization naturally became an important part of Morning Time at our house.  I was surprised and encouraged when I looked back and realized that we had memorized 7 passages of scripture this year!  We use a variety of methods but nothing very fancy.  Mostly we just say it everyday until we have it!

On the “Pages” section of this site I have provided free print-outs of our Bible memorization. I color the individual verse for different learning methods.  We may go around the room one day and each take a different colored verse.  A favorite method of my kids is to shout one color, whisper another and use a normal voice for the third color.  It requires them to pay attention, and they have fun shouting in the house!

We have used our passages as copywork.  We have recited them to Grandma and at small group. I also use hand motions when ever I can think of them. I don’t pressure myself to think of an action for each word, but I try to take advantage of the easy ones like “mountain,” “strong,” or “feet.”  If there is a repeated word we might alternate standing or sitting every time we say that word.

We move; we shake. We talk; we shout.  Whatever it takes to get the Word of God dwelling in our hearts and minds.

 

One thought on “Scripture Memorization

Leave a Reply

